Student Essay Contests

Bloomfield Historical Society Student Essay Contest

The Bloomfield Historical Society invites high school juniors and seniors to participate in the annual Michael Carmichael, Bloomfield Historical Society Student Essay Contest.

The essay should be about an individual, group or building of historical significance in the Bloomfield area. The use of primary historical sources is encouraged. Proper citations are expected. Responses should have a minimum of 900 words and maximum of 1200.

The First prize is designated the Michael Carmichael Award. Michael Carmichael was a longtime member of the Bloomfield Historical Society and a member of the Bloomfield Community for more than 45 years. He graduated from Northwestern University and from his earliest days had deep interest in the world around him. Michael’s curiosity led him to explore the many corners of our local history. He was part of a small group who drafted the articles of incorporation for the Bloomfield Historical Society, and he was deeply involved in the organization. Michael was a superb writer and communicator. Much of his focus was to develop Legacy the published Chronicle of BHS. The BHS website archives all past editions of the Society’s publication. Michael’s incomparable ability to uncover stories and connect ideas throughout the decades chronicled and propelled the work of the Bloomfield Historical Society.

Prizes awarded-
1st prize of $500 Cash and named Michael Carmichael Award Winner
2nd Prize of $300 Cash
3rd Prize of $200 Cash
The winning essays will be featured on the BHS website.

The Annual Essay Contest Winners –

1st place 2023 winner Mia Moede
Click here to read her essay “Behind Our Bricks – Eero and Eliel Saarinen”








1st place 2022 winner Shannon Schulte
Click here to read her essay.









2021 Essay Contest:
Local History was embraced by students at International Academy in Bloomfield Township recently in the Bloomfield Historical Society’s 2021 inaugural essay contest.

2021 First place and Winner of the Michael Carmichael Award, went to Wasey Rehman for his essay on Judson Bradway.   Click here to read his essay.









2021 Second place went to Brody Cavanaugh for his essay on the Hunter family.  Click here to read his essay.



Comments are closed.